The Most Painful Experience

via Daily Prompt: Ten

Are you in pain?

Doctors in hospitals always say “…Kindly rate your pain from one to ten…” – ten being the rating if the pain is very unbearable.

Patients who suffer from intolerable pain usually say “ten”, but is that really the maximum rating?…why not eleven?…why not twenty?…why ten? I don’t really know.

I had an accident last year, December 2, 2016 to be exact. I was about to aboard the ship when I stumbled over two big tires and a baggage owned by another passenger and suddenly, a metal hit my head resulting to external bleeding. I want to cry, not because of my head injury, but because of the humiliation and embarrassment caused to me by the accident. Moreover, I was hurt knowing the fact that nobody helped me. I brought myself to the hospital. Yes, you got it right! I brought myself to the hospital since nobody helped me. The doctor examined my head and made me rate the pain I was suffering. Of course, I said it was a TEN because it was absolutely intolerably painful! However, the doctor dismissed my pain rating because he said I did not collapsed, thus, there is no internal bleeding which is more dangerous. Therefore, my own perception of pain was not enough to satisfy the doctor to evaluate more about my head injury. He merely gave me pain relievers. But in my opinion, the pain I was suffering was really a ten! Not eight! Not Seven! But a Ten!

Some people may be experts in specific fields, like the doctor in this case, but the pain we usually experience cannot be seen by others. They can merely hear us say “I am hurting” or “My head aches or my stomach aches or my heart is aching”.  There are pains that we show but there are also those pains that we hide because most of the time, it is best to say “I’m alright.”

Quote for the day:

“Without pain, how could we know joy?’ This is an old argument in the field of thinking about suffering and its stupidity and lack of sophistication could be plumbed for centuries but suffice it to say that the existence of broccoli does not, in any way, affect the taste of chocolate.”
John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

Ten

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

