Smoothie Recipe

“I’m fat!” These thoughts lead me to research on diet plans and other alternative ways to lose weight since I’m not a fan of exercise.

I found several sites offering easy steps of losing weight by simply blending green leafy vegetables and fruits. They call the finish product as “Smoothie”.

Why call it Smoothie?

I found a site (https://www.healthysmoothiehq.com/smoothies-history-what-every-smoothie-maker-should-know) entitled “The History of Smoothies: What Every Serious Smoothie Maker Should Know” written by  Ryan Carmody which narrates the history of smoothie, to quote:

By 1970 a lactose intolerant teenager named Steven Kuhnau began to make smoothies in order to be able to enjoy something similar to the milkshakes most of his peers loved. Unable to digest milkshakes because of his lactose intolerance, he created frozen blends of fresh fruit, ice, and nutrients and fruit juice instead. He was excited to discover that not only did they taste good; they helped control his allergies and blood sugar levels as well. Kuhnau was so excited by his invention he opened a health food store called “The Smoothie King”, and began selling vitamins alongside his healthy drinks.

Kuhnau didn’t invent the name. He just branded it, saying the first time he heard the word was in reference to fruit and fruit juice based drinks made by “hippies” in the late 60’s. Prior to Kuhnau’s “Smoothie King”, the name “smoothie was used to describe everything from women’s bras and girdles, to ball point pens, car paint and machinery. There was even a band named “The Smoothies”! It wasn’t until Kuhnau opened his health food store and called his drinks “smoothies”, to appeal to the already health conscious hippies who knew what the term meant, that the name took off. Now, with more than 600 “Smoothie King” stores nationwide today, it’s unlikely the name will ever change.

Now that I’m starting to worry about my weight, I decided to buy a blender…just an ordinary blender in order not to invest great cost since I’m still at the stage of experimenting. For three days, I started blending and making my own Smoothie Recipe based on any available vegetable and fruit I grasp. I also started posting it on my Instagram account, which to my surprise garnered me some liker and followers. Well, I only have my friends as followers and most of my posts only had 6-10 likes. So, the 20+ likes made me very happy and inspired to write this blog post. (update: as of May 24, 2015, the likes in my Instagram account for these smoothie pictures are almost 100…and still counting. #HappinessOverload)

I would like to share my very own Smoothie Recipe. It might inspire other “almost-overweight-women” to change their lifestyle.

Moreover, I’ve read that in order to lose weight, the Smoothie must replace one (1) meal a day. In my case, I make it during breakfast.

I HOPE I’LL INSPIRE SOMEONE BY THIS POST 🙂

 

Carrot-Apple-Ginger-Orange Smoothie (CAGO Smoothie)

Ingredients:
2 medium sized carrots
1 apple
1 orange (peeled)
1 inch ginger
Parsley leaves
1/2cup water

 

Romaine Lettuce Smoothie

Ingredients:
1Apple
1Pear
3kalamansi
1/2lemon
Romaine lettuce leaves
1tablespoon honey

 

Pear Smoothie

Ingredients:
3 pears
1 lemon
1 tablespoon honey

 

Leave a Reply

